Sector: Education Completion date: August 2019

The project is part of the second phase of the Arbroath Schools Project, comprising of three new schools: Muirfield, Ladyloan Primary, and a shared campus for Hayshead and St Thomas RC Primary Schools, which also includes an early years facility.

Muirfield Primary School follows the first phase of the Arbroath Schools Project, which saw the replacement of Timmergreens and Warddykes schools, both of which opened in August 2016. 

Construction of a new school on an existing school site

The school was constructed within the existing school grounds, using a phased approach, so that teaching continued and the impact upon pupils and staff was minimised.

The new school is comprised of a structural steel frame and a structural timber inner leaf. As the school is built, the existing buildings will now be demolished and replaced by a new car park and sports pitch.

Building Scotland’s Schools For the Future

The construction of Ladyloan and Muirfield primary schools means that over 100 schools around the country have entered construction under Scotland’s £1.8bn Schools for the Future programme, which is managed of behalf of the Scottish Government by The Scottish Futures Trust (SFT).

A gold-standard site

The project won a Gold award with the Considerate Constructors' Scheme in 2019, in recognition of outstanding performance assessed across five categories: care for appearance, respect the community, protect the environment, secure everyone's safety, and value the workforce. 

Project team

Architect: Holmes Miller
Project manager: Angus Council
Principal contractor: Robertson Tayside
Civil & structural engineer: Angus Council
M&E engineer: TÜV SÜD Wallace Whittle
Quantity Surveyor: W.I. Talbot LLP

Education brochure

We've completed over 150 educational projects across the UK – read about some of them here.


  • CCS-Awards-2019-Gold.jpg

Related news

  • New Angus schools officially opened by D...

    New Angus schools officially opened by D...

    Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills John Swinney MSP officially opened two new schools in Angus.
  • Robertson to deliver a third Arbroath sc...

    Robertson to deliver a third Arbroath sc...

    Angus Council has applied for full planning permission for Holmes Miller's design for Ladyloan primary school.